Change my perspective…

It’s kind of a blah day today.

You know the kind–no sun, but no rain either.  Cloudy, but not really cool.  It’s as if my whole little world is wondering what to do.  The goats are meandering around the field, my dog is just half-heartedly barking.  To add myself into the mixture, my stomach is thinking it’s hungry, but not enough to demand food.  Just blaaaahhhhhh!

As I ponder this day, a thought comes into my head.  How many times in my walk with God have I had a blah day?  Unfortunately, I would have to say quite a few.  “I just don’t want to read that devotional today.” “I’m not in the mood to read the Bible.” “Oh, another online devotion sent to my inbox.  Delete.” “A woman’s gathering at church? Not today.” Sadly, I could probably go on with that list.  I’ve had many “blah” days before God.  No, I’m not beating myself up for this–I’m human and regardless of how I think I should be, I know there will be days when I’m not my cheerful self.  The question becomes–how do I turn the day around?

Usually, I find something to take my mind elsewhere.  A good book (and it would have to be really good!), a visit with a friend, even a movie on tv might do the trick.  But you know what I’ve found to work consistently?  Singing. I love to sing.  I always joke about the fact that there is music going on in my head constantly (yes, I dance to the beat of a different drummer!).  I have found that if I sing, out loud or in my head, that diversion is just enough to pull me out of the grip of the day.  Now if I add cooking into that mix?  Oh honey, the day has just gone from blah to aaaahhhhhh!

So, how about you?  How do you get out of the “blahs?” If you aren’t sure, try a variety of activities until you find one that consistently takes you out of that place.  It’s all about changing your perspective.  I mean, we  have: a lot to be grateful for, tons to praise God about, reasons to sing beyond number.  I love the words from “With All I Am” by Hillsong United:  “Jesus I believe in You, Jesus I belong to You.  You’re the reason that I live, the reason that I sing, with all I am.”  Let those words just roll over you.  Jesus is our reason for being, believing, singing.  That fact lifts my spirits–I hope it does the same for you!  Check out “With All I Am.” It will change your perspective–and for my Facebook “Likers”, it goes right along with my nature theme for the week!  “I Will Worship, I Will Worship You!”

Colossians 3:1-2 in the Message say, “So if you’re serious about living this new resurrection life with Christ, act like it. Pursue the things over which Christ presides. Don’t shuffle along, eyes to the ground, absorbed with the things right in front of you. Look up, and be alert to what is going on around Christ—that’s where the action is. See things from his perspective.”  Take a look at your day from His viewpoint–find a song, and sing!  Look up!  You’ll find your day will do the same!

And remember how I said cooking just makes the day better?  Maybe you don’t believe that, but the recipes I’m giving you today may change your perspective!  Buffalo Chicken Garbage Bread is divine–so simple and so tasty!  Caramel- Fudge Chocolate Cake? Please!  Look at the photo!  It will knock your socks off!

buffalo chicken garbage bread--a bit messy to roll but oh so yummy!       Caramel-Fudge Chocolate Cake--this is one of the easiest and yummiest cakes I have ever eaten!  Try it and you will agree!

Published by anitafessler

I am a Christian author of women's Bible studies. I have spoken at women's conferences, providing humor and encouragement to my sisters. This blog in conjunction with my social media page will strive to give glory to my Savior through postings.

Tell me what you think!