I begin again

Today is the day after I worked my last day at a local elementary school.  It’s hard to believe.  I had many people ask how it felt to be leaving, and the only word I could come up with was “weird.” I can’t actually describe it.  I suppose the reality of it all won’t hit until August, when I won’t do my normal thing of getting ready for the start of school.  I guess a part of me just can’t or won’t believe I actually resigned.  I mean really, how many people in today’s economy walk away from a secure job?  Not many, I would guess.

But here I am, proof positive that something extremely difficult can in fact be done.  Leaving my teaching job was the hardest thing I’ve ever done, and now that it’s completed, I have a peace.  Yes, I know there will be times when I wonder about my sanity, but I know deep in my heart that this is what God wanted me to do.  I’m sure He’s probably thinking that He wanted me to do this earlier.  I am thankful that He didn’t take away this dream of writing and ministering to women; instead, He has made it even bigger.  I look forward to seeing how this becomes a reality in the next few months.  Even though I at this time have no one checking out my blog, I know I will someday.  They will be able to look back at these posts and see how I got here today.

Let’s reflect, shall we?  I turned in my resignation, and on the same day I got a go-ahead from two local principals for me to bring food to their schools.  Coincidence?  I don’t believe in them.  Was that  confirmation to me?  Absolutely.  Then, during my last full week of school, I sold more Bible study books than I had in a while.  Another coincidence?  Well, you know what I think about that!!!  God knew I was feeling a bit, OK a lot, down about leaving work.  He gave me these “gifts” to urge me along this path.  It is the right one for me–if I didn’t know for sure before, I definitely know now.

So, here we are.  I will spend the summer getting menus ready, and listening for God to show me ways to get the word out about the Bible study.  I am excited about what lies ahead.  “If God is for us, who can be against us?” (paraphrase mine).  Until I blog again…

Tell me what you think!

