Sometimes it takes a little pain…

I love spring!  Everything comes back to life–the flowers, the trees, the grass, the bees (I say that as I am writing outside and a bumblebee is buzz, buzzing all around!)  A gentle breeze is blowing on this warm North Carolina day, and the temp is very pleasant indeed.

Yep, on days like this, life is just about perfect.  I live on a farm, so every day has something new happening.  Today, it’s baby goats.  We have goats on our farm, and they provide many moments of humor as well as frustration (just ask anybody who has them!)  Anyway, we have one female goat that we call Scraggles.  I don’t know where the name came from, it just came from the boys and it has stuck all these years.  She is one of our larger females any time of the year.  But today she looked exceptionally large (she doesn’t have a computer, and none of her friends do either, so I think I can safely say these things about her and not worry about it getting  back to her! Anyway, we do say these things to her face!).  My husband put her in the backyard to give her some extra feed and to allow her some alone time.  We’ve been doing this goat thing for some time now, and my man is pretty good at spotting impending labor.  I looked out at Scraggs, and she just looked miserable, girls.  The ones of you who have had children, you can just imagine what she looked like and how she felt.  She waddled when she walked, every step looked like it took immense effort, and she groaned a bit as well.  The day progressed and I noticed that I could hear her more than I could earlier.  She was moaning (I know, how do goats moan?  I’m telling you, that’s what she was doing!).  I talked to her out the window, giving her encouragement, and letting her know that I was around.  A bit later, I saw her on the ground and that humongous abdomen of hers was contracting.  Her face looked like she was in such pain, and her groaning intensified.  But as quickly as that stage started, it was over, and she had a little baby on the ground.  Being a good momma, she started doing the things that momma animals do to their newborns (I won’t gross you out with the details!).  Her ordeal wasn’t over however; she laid down again, and that abdomen started doing its thing again.  And before I knew it, there was a second baby on the ground.  Thankfully, she did not have to go through that a third time, though we certainly thought it was a possibility that there were triplets in there because momma was big!

Remember I said that she was moaning and seemed to be in incredible pain?  As soon as that second baby made its appearance, she was done with the moaning.  She set about doing the task of being a goat momma and all that other stuff just disappeared.  If you have had the blessing in your life of giving birth, you know what I’m talking about.  I had one boy with an epidural, so when it was all done, I had no pain.  Life was good as I fussed over my baby boy.  The second boy was a completely natural birth.  Now that one had a bit more pain associated with the event, but as soon as he was here, my pain stopped.  I once again got to love on a new baby boy. Isn’t it amazing how that works?  We as moms endure a lot of pain to bring our children into the world.  Just like Scraggles our goat, we experience some serious pain.  But when that baby is out on the ground (or hopefully, yours was placed in your arms!), all thought of that pain just disappears.  What was so consuming just minutes before takes a backseat to the blessing that you now hold.  I won’t go as far to say that you don’t remember that pain (because I certainly think I do!), but I will say that the pain just kind of fades away as the new reality sinks in.

Have you had a time in your life that was exceptionally painful?  Did you think that the pain would never go away?  Have you had a season in time where God was “pruning” some things out of your life and it hurt so much for Him to do that?  You thought you’d never get over the feeling of hurt, betrayal, abandonment, loss, etc…  You may be standing in those shoes right now.  It may seem like this time will never end.

Let me tell you sweetheart, with all certainty, that this pain will eventually fade.  I’m not telling you that you will ever forget it, or that your life will go back to the way it was before this time.  What I am saying is that whatever is happening in your life, it is happening for a reason.  Unfortunately, we don’t always know the reason for the things we experience–and we may not ever know this side of heaven.  Maybe you are in a situation where you have lost something or someone important in your life.  Grieve that loss, take the time to acknowledge the role that the person or thing played in your life.  Don’t be ashamed to feel sad–it’s a part of the process.  As you are dealing with this time, take every feeling that you have and give it to God.  Why?  Because He already knows what you’re feeling, He already knows how this will all play out, He already knows you and loves you more than you can imagine.  By giving your pain to Jesus, you are letting go of the power that it has over you.  If you let Him, God will help you heal.  The Holy Spirit will be your comfort, and together you will walk through to the other side of this.  I Peter 5:7 says to “Cast all your anxiety on Him because He cares for you.”  Take your hurts to Him now.  Things will take time to heal, but Jesus will be with you every step of the way.  And who knows?  Maybe sometime on this journey, you may be able to use the very thing that is consuming your thoughts and heart right now to help another sister through a similar circumstance.  We never know how God will use the difficulties and the triumphs in our lives.  All I can say is that through it all, I know that Jesus will never leave you or forsake you, He will give you peace, and that He will show you His love.  “I will turn their mourning into gladness; I will give them comfort and joy instead of sorrow.” Jeremiah 31:13

I pray that you will be able to say one day that the pain that threatened to put you out of commission was just a stepping stone to the glorious life that you live on the other side of it.  Sometimes it takes a little pain to work everything out all right.  Until we talk again girls…

Scraggles and her two new babies… showing that yes, sometimes there is pain,

but there is also great joy.

IMG_0017

Tell me what you think!

