It can all change with a phone call…

Have you ever had one of those days?  No, not one of THOSE days; one of those days when everything is great.  The sun is shining, the windows are open, the smell of cleaning fluids are in the air (OK, that wasn’t part of the great), the piano is finally being tuned (imagine the worst sound you’ve heard made by an instrument and multiply that by a million–that was the piano before)…  It was just one of those days. One of those days when all was right with the world.

Isn’t it funny how one of “those” days doesn’t happen very often? We get so caught up in our own little world that we just don’t really appreciate when everything is going good.  How many days have gone by without me ever really noticing how “great” the day actually was?  Obviously I don’t have an answer to that, because I’m too caught up in my own little world, remember?  But seriously, if we only stopped to smell the roses just a little more…how would our life change?  If we appreciated the “good times” when they were around, would that appreciation make the “not so good times” a bit easier?

Remember my great day at the beginning?  I was buzzing around having a wonderful day.  That is, until I received a phone call.  Then, that day and all its “greatness” just kind of disappeared for a moment.  Actually, longer than a moment.  Suddenly, the birds weren’t chirping, the sun wasn’t shining, the breeze wasn’t blowing…  All I could concentrate on was what was being said at the other end of the phone.  My “great day” had just gone south in a hurry.  My brain went from thoughts of, well I’ll just admit it, nothing much, to thoughts of times, and days, and schedules, and fitting it all in.  I had a moment girls, when my mood hit the bottom.  How did that happen?  How did that happen on a day when ten minutes prior had the sun shining, the breeze blowing… you remember the description.  That day turned into a mess with the ring of a phone.  Did I remember the day of ten minutes prior?  Nope, all I could remember was the day of the present–and it made me really, really sad.  So sad in fact that I had an overwhelming desire to cry–the boo-whoo-ey kind of cry.

But I didn’t stay there girls.  Remember that I said the piano was finally being tuned?  God knew that the phone call would come that day.  He knew that I would need some way to focus my thoughts on Him and off the current situation.  My old, so severely out of tune piano was now a beautifully tuned instrument.  I sat down at the same piano where I  spent many, many hours practicing when I was younger.  You know what I did?  I played.  I played music, song after song, after song.  Some I sang, some I didn’t.  I just played, and let the music and the words of those songs just flow over me.  Music is one of my greatest ways to feel almost any type of emotion, and on this day, music soothed my anxious soul.  I say soul ladies, because that music hit me deep within myself.  I absolutely believe that God uses music in my life for many reasons, and on that day, He used it to speak truth in my heart.  Love, wonder, faith, questions, peace, and so many more things flooded through me as I just sat and worshipped my God at that piano.  How long I sat there, I can’t tell you.  But I can tell you that when I finally stopped, there was a difference in me.

The birds were singing, the breeze was blowing, the sun was shining.  My heart had found peace in the comfort of God’s gift–music.  “My heart is steadfast, O God, my heart is steadfast; I will sing and make music” (Psalm 57:7).  Did the situation that arose from the phone call disappear?  Of course not.  However, the feelings that came from that call faded into the background.  Focus changes everything ladies.  Believe that.  If you are facing a difficult situation or one that has more questions than answers, draw comfort from these words.  Where are they from?  A song, naturally.  May the words bring your soul to the peace that comes from having the right focus…

But when I fix my eyes on all that You are
Then every doubt I feel
Deep in my heart
Grows strangely dim
All my worries fade
And fall to the ground
Cause when I seek Your face
And don’t look around
Any place I’m in
Grows strangely dim

Words from “Strangely dim” by Francesca Battistelli

Check out the video to this song with its awesome lyrics:  You will want to hear this for those times when the phone rings (or the washer breaks, or the money runs out, or…)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MjmZ2v0niCI

Tell me what you think!

