Keep it Simple, Silly

I’ve been waxing nostalgic today. Have you ever had one of those days when you think back to days prior?  Days when…your life may have been more exciting, adventurous, calm, peaceful, busy, fun? Or maybe less exciting, adventurous, calm, peaceful, busy, fun?   I’m having one of those days today.

This all started when I was looking at my high school best friend’s social media page.  She had a picture on there of our Senior Trip–do the students even do Senior trips anymore?  If they don’t, what fun these kids are missing!  Anyway, I digress.  As I looked at a younger me, I thought back to those years.  Now please don’t get me wrong–in no way, shape, or form do I desire to return to high school!  Those years, while filled with fun, were very difficult for this young lady.  I struggled with self-esteem (lack of), body image (poor), and envy (of what I perceived others to have).  All those difficulties laid the groundwork for living a life during high school that wasn’t “real”; fantasies and dreams occupied most of my time and spilled out into my reality, vastly distorting my perceptions.  I missed out on things, real high-school life things, because I chose to be someone I truly wasn’t.  My life had nothing “simple” about it; trying to keep up with all the things I made up in my head was a full-time job.  I had a great deal of anxiety because I believed that people wouldn’t like me if they knew the “real me”, and so I covered that up with more manifestations of the unreal persona that I held so tightly to in high school.  “Keeping up with the Popular Ones” only led to a complicated, unfulfilling life–one that spiraled out of control for many years.  If only I had listened to and believed the “keep it simple, silly” slogan…

Thanks be to God that He did not leave me in that pit.  Going to Virginia Tech for four years and getting away from my exceptionally small town gave me the chance to see how life could “real”-ly be.  I started discovering that my life wasn’t so unbearable, strange, or lacking.  God used the love of a wonderful young man who later became my husband to show me that I truly could be “me” without fear.  Even though I wasn’t walking with Him at that time, God didn’t give up on this seriously messed up chick–in fact, He worked a tremendous miracle in my life by turning me away from all the fantasies and toward a life filled with love and acceptance.  He showed me that simple was phenomenal–a life uncomplicated by unrealistic perceptions of both myself and others was freeing.  No longer did I live in the shadow of what others thought of me; the only One I lived to “impress” was Jesus.  Simplicity never felt so good!

Now, years down the line, I find that simplicity is still the name of the game.  In cooking, in relationships, in writing, in life–having the ease of a simple plan can make all the difference.  I no longer am concerned about what others think of me–I actually consider it a compliment when people tell me, “You aren’t worried about what others think of you.”  No ladies, I am not.  I lived a lot of years in the shadow of comparison; I was actually blinded in that darkness.  I couldn’t see that others already knew my life was a farce–I just thought that I was keeping all my lies in check and spinning all my stories in ways that did not allow any room for doubt.  I definitely did not “keep it simple, silly.”

But no more.  My life has a simple purpose now:  to serve my God in whatever arena He places me.  For this season, I believe I am to minister to women everywhere.  That’s why this blog is here.  Some entries are about life, others are about food.  Some even combine the two.  Whatever the subject may be, this blog has a simple mantra: encouraging women to be well-fed by the God who is all-knowing, all present, all sufficient. The food I’m sharing today is a quick way to give your family a little something sweet without all the stress.  Are you ready for “simple?”

In keeping with my “simple” theme, I wanted to share with you a recipe that is so easy yet so very yummy.  Remember that I said earlier that I take it as a compliment when people say I’m not concerned about others thoughts about me?  Well, this recipe just shows that I’m not worried about being called a non-homemade cook person.  These simple peanut butter cookies are great; and they have as a base a boxed cake mix!  Oh, the horror!  I’ll bet that you even have the ingredients at home:  a yellow cake mix, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup oil, 1 cup peanut butter.  That’s it!  Mix that all together and bake at 350 for 9 minutes or so.  And ta-da! Cookies for the family.  Simple, delicious dessert without all the hassle.

Doesn’t that sound wonderful for a baked good?  Not only for a baked good, but for a life–simple and “delicious” without all the hassle.  Sounds like a recipe for a fulfilling life–without all those “complications.”  Give simple a try; I believe you will be amazed at the difference in your life!

 

Check out the link below for full recipe instructions.

IMG_0218

http://youthlitreviews.com/2012/08/08/baking-cookies-made-easy-and-kid-friendly/

Tell me what you think!

