It’s the little things…

My husband and I had a rather significant event happen in our lives this week.

We celebrated twenty-five years of marriage (thank you, but no gifts are necessary. Unless you feel like you absolutely have to…) 🙂

As I write that, you know what popped into my head? My thought was–how sad it is that we live in a world where twenty-five years together is such an amazing feat. I think of my parents, who were married roughly forty years before my Daddy went to see Jesus. My in-laws were married forty-two years before God called my father-in-law home. And my grandparents–well, they were married almost sixty-eight years (and interestingly, my mommaw passed away and my poppaw left this earth a little over a year later). So my husband and I have been surrounded by long-lasting marital relationships. Does that just naturally mean that our relationship should stand the test of time? Oh no, it doesn’t mean that at all.

What does it take to make a long-term relationship a reality? I wish I could give some awesome wisdom that would make sense and provide a quick and easy way to achieve marital milestones. Any of you that know me personally are already shaking your heads–stop that, it’s not nice! Instead of coming from yours truly, how about I go to the written authority on relationships–the Bible.
“Wives, understand and support your husbands in ways that show your support for Christ. The husband provides leadership to his wife the way Christ does to his church, not by domineering but by cherishing.” Ephesians 5:22
“Husbands, go all out in love for your wives. Don’t take advantage of them.” Colossians 3:19

Do my husband and I live every day as is described above? Uhhhh…no. I have days when I just don’t want to be the “supportive wife.” I get irritated, short on my sweetness, grumpy. My husband, however, does a wonderful job of cherishing me and “going all out” in his love for me (any of you that see him–be sure to tell him I said this. It will go far…) The most important thing here is to remember that we have a model, a guide to help us on those days when we don’t quite measure up. It’s OK to have times when everything isn’t rosy–just remember that God has put a lot of verses in the Bible that deal with marriages and relationships in general. One of my favorites, and one that guides my day-to-day dealings with everyone is this:
“If it is possible, as far as it depends on you, live at peace with everyone.” Romans 12:18

That said everyone–did you catch that? I have to live in peace with my husband. Even on days when I would really like to argue about how he drives, eats, breathes, etc… Believe it or not ladies, that verse has stopped many arguments in my head before they even began. God is like that, isn’t He? It’s like He puts His hand over my mouth, and leaves it there until I get past whatever is bothering me. If I had to give you advice on how to have a long-lasting marriage, the above verse in Romans would be the greatest piece of wisdom. Marriage takes work, and when we look at it as a sacred relationship (because that’s what it is!), we treat it differently. Girls, I can honestly tell you that God has made and continues to make a tremendous difference in how we treat each other and how we treat others.

So how does my title fit into these thoughts? Well, it’s quite simple actually. When I support my husband, it’s not in some grand way that announces to the world, “Hey look what I just did in support of my husband” (imagine me saying that in a loud, deep voice because in my head that’s what the line sounded like!) No grand gestures necessary. I feed him after he’s been out on the tractor all day. I wash his clothes so he can stop smelling like he’s been out on the tractor all day. I smile and laugh at his jokes. I spend time talking with him about whatever. I ride along when he’s making a run to pick up feed or building supplies. Are any of those huge things? Nope, but they are things that I do each day to support him, to show him that he’s the most important guy in the world to me. It’s the “little things” that make a marriage work; that make a marriage last, that make a marriage strong.

But make no mistake ladies–it’s having our big God in the middle of all our stuff that keeps us headed down the right path in our relationship. To God be the glory and praise for twenty-five years of marriage! May He give us fifty more!

One way I feed my husband–by enjoying the bounty from
other people’s gardens!

IMG_0232

 

Want some yummy recipes to use up that summer produce?  Search for your particular veggie using your preferred search engine.  I’m sure you will get lots of choices.  Also, check out my Facebook page for a delicious recipe for zucchini parmesan crisps.  They are yummy!!!!  I have highlighted it on my timeline.

Tell me what you think!

