Distractions make life bearable…

Day four of my week experiment!  I am so happy to be here…

Have you noticed a theme this week?  In case you haven’t, it’s distraction.  For the past few days, I’ve been discussing how distractions can keep you from what you need to do, can steal your joy, can fog your mind.  I’m going a different route today ladies.  Ready?

Today I was walking through our local discount/bargain store in search of things on my list.  I had a hard time at first keeping my focus.  You see, usually when I’m in this store, I’m a chick on a mission with no time to look neither to the right nor to the left.  I get in, get what I need, and get out.  I’m sure you have excursions like that as well.  For some reason though, today I kept seeing things to look at that weren’t on my list.  And I looked leisurely at them.  Again girls, this is not me.  Some of you know me personally, and shopping is not my thing.  But that’s what I did at the beginning of the trip.  Why today?  I think I know.

My husband and I received some hard news on our way shopping.  I mean, pray as you are driving kind of news.  It really shook us, humbled us, moved us.  So our minds weren’t really on what we were there to do anyway.  But, I believe in this case, God gave us some distractions that helped with our mood.  We looked at storage containers and thought about what to get.  Storage containers?  Really?  Yes, that’s just the way we roll.  That slight diversion of thought was just enough.  We stayed in the moment long enough to get what we needed to get done done.  We shopped, we paid, we loaded, we unloaded at the house, we thought again of the news we received.  In this case ladies, distractions helped us maintain focus instead of cause us to lose focus.

As was proved today, distractions can be a welcome addition to  your day.  They can let your brain have a rest for just a bit from whatever difficulties that may be present.  As long as you eventually come back to the task at hand…

So I say, rejoice in the distractions that come in the form of a “break.”  You just may need to let go of something for a while…

How about a little distraction from your everyday food?  Try this:

Lemonade Cake with Lemon Cream Cheese Frosting–it truly is a wonderful distraction–it will take your mind and taste buds to a fabulous place!  Follow this link for the recipe:

http://www.pincookie.com/lemonade-cake-with-lemon-cream-cheese-frosting-and-it-uses-a-cake-mix-score/

lemonade cake with lemon cream cheese frosting-and it uses a cake mix! score!    Ingredients    1 Lemon boxed cake mix (I used Duncan Hines)  4 eggs  1 1/4 cup milk  1/3 cup vegetable oil  2 Tbsp Lemonade from concentrate  Glaze:  2 Tbsp Lemonade from concentrate  1 cup powdered sugar  1 Tbsp water  Frosting:  8 oz block 1/3 less fat cream cheese

Tell me what you think!

