Just be…

I had the chance earlier today to do something I haven’t in a while:  Just be.

Have you had that opportunity lately?  

OK, I have to say, if you have no idea what I mean by “just be-ing”–well, you definitely need some time to do that!

I had thirty minutes of “down time.”  And not just down time, I mean time when I didn’t have to be anything for anybody–not a chef, housekeeper, chauffeur, blueberry picker.  I could just be.  So, I went outside in the sun and breeze and just relaxed.  

Usually when I have time to just be, I have about a million things on my mind.  I am constantly thinking of those million things in concert, with nothing really dominating my thought processes.  Today however, was different.  When I put my head down, my mind settled.  I spoke some to my Lord, and He gave me a verse I have heard many times: “Be still and know that I am God; I will be exalted in all the nations, I will be exalted in the earth” Psalm 46:10.  So do you know what I did?

I became still.  I mean really still.  No thoughts of this or that, no going over schedules, no talking with God, nothing.  I got silent.  I rested.  I had no idea that I needed such rest, but I obviously did.  Now don’t think I took a little nap, because even though I rested, I didn’t sleep.  It wasn’t that kind of rest.  My mind and my heart needed stillness, needed quiet, needed rest.  It’s been an emotional week for me, so I knew that emotionally I was tired.  Isn’t it amazing how one aspect of your life can affect so many others?  I just had to rest every part of me, and God knew that.  He saw to it that my life would slow down just enough to allow me the opportunity to “be.”  I have to say: the rest was just what I needed.  After that time of “be-ing” I went on about my day, refreshed and reinvigorated.  

So what about you?  Do you need some time to “just be?”  I know it’s not easy, but if you can find just fifteen minutes in your day, I know you will feel a difference.  Find the time somewhere, then find somewhere to rest (not nap) and clear your mind.  “Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him…” says Psalm 37:7a.  See if God has something for you during that time.  And if not, enjoy the stillness.  Life will catch up to you soon enough…

Want to experience some “rest” at mealtime?  How about a simple crock pot meal that has few ingredients, but a great taste?  

You can even use frozen chicken breasts for this crock pot pineapple chicken!

Crockpot Pineapple Chicken - 3-4 Chicken Breasts (about 2 lbs) 1 can of pineapple in juice (tidbits, chucks, rings, it doesn’t matter) 1 medium onion 2 TBSP soy sauce ½ cup chicken broth. Oh I love crockpot recipes!

Follow this link for a bit of “relaxation” at dinner:  http://momswithcrockpots.com/2011/08/crockpot-pineapple-chicken/

2 Comments

  1. Doris Schroen

    Even tho we all are aware of the scripture “be still and know that I am God” how often do we really appropriate it and “just be” with Him. Life has a way of getting in the way of things sometimes. Thanks so much for the reminder and encouragement. Love the blog!!

    • Thanks so much for the encouraging words, Doris! It would be great if we could just put aside moments each day to just be. Unfortunately, I haven’t been able to master that yet! That’s why those moments when I can “just be” are so special and soothing to the soul!

Tell me what you think!

