Friends are so necessary…

I love my friends.

You know who you are.  Those people I have in my life that love me, encourage me, laugh at me, laugh with me, smack me around.  They truly do keep me sane.

I had a great get-together with a bunch of ladies I call “the family” recently.  I call them that because, if anyone messes with one member, that person messes with the whole group.  Kind of the mob mentality without all the shooting!  We laughed, we ate, we encouraged, we celebrated, we fussed, we enjoyed.  It was a wonderful, estrogen-filled time!

I don’t know about you, but I find that I need those “friend times” a lot.  Working at home doesn’t allow me a lot of social time, not that I’m very social anyway, but my daily interactions with people are limited.  I truly believe that God gave us friends to help us, in a real tangible way.  A way that we can really feel, and know that we are being supported by these great people.  In Proverbs 17:17 the Bible says, “A friend loves at all times, and a brother is born for a time of adversity.”  I have often heard it said that a person finds out who her true friends really are when the times get hard.  Isn’t that true?  I know I can count on my friends to be there for me if I have a really stinky something happening, or if I have an exceptionally happy thing going on.  Friends are truly a gift from God.

So, how about you?  When you think of your friends, what comes to mind?  Someone with whom you can talk the deep stuff of life, cry over the unexpected stuff of life, rejoice over the crazy stuff of life?  I certainly pray that you have a few friends that fit that bill.  We all need someone to walk beside us, because there will be times when we just can’t take another step on our own.  Ecclesiastes 4:12 says, “Though one may be overpowered, two can defend themselves. A cord of three strands is not quickly broken.” That brings up my final point.

While it is a gift from God to have strong friendships, it is the ultimate gift from God to have a friendship with His Son Jesus.  When God is present in your relationships, they become richer, more fulfilling, deeper, eternal (He’s the third strand mentioned in the above verse).  That’s the awesome truth for today:  If you and your friend are both followers of Jesus, death from this world is only a temporary separation.  You will continue that friendship when you are both in heaven with our Lord.  That is an awesome promise to me.  I get to hang around with these incredible women here, and will have them in heaven to enjoy all that awaits us there as well!  Sounds pretty amazing to me!

Love on your friends.  Show them the love you have for Jesus.  Never, ever take them for granted.  

Hey, why not get together with those friends and serve them an awesome dessert like the one below?  

Fudge Brownie Pie–It is a real crowd pleaser!

Fudge Brownie Pie Recipe    

http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Fudge-Brownie-Pie 

Tell me what you think!

