Yes to God? Oh Yes!

“I just don’t know, Lord.  I’m not sure this is what You want me to do.”

I was waiting for the women’s conference break-out sessions to begin.  As I prayed, I kept saying what I wrote at the beginning over and over. Have you ever been there?  Somewhere that you believed you should be, but still couldn’t quite grasp the truth of it?

I had spoken at this conference before.  I knew what to expect. Really, there was nothing new to the experience as a whole.  Nothing new that is, except my prayers beforehand.  I had spent weeks literally on my face before God asking, no begging, for Him to show me clearly His will in my speaking future.

You see, I was leaning heavily toward leaving my full-time job.  Now don’t go thinking I was nuts–leaving full-time for a some-time speaking role.  I already felt the pull of leaving my job and concentrating fully on writing, speaking, and whatnot.  But this conference was where I put all my stock.  I truly believed that God would show me what I needed to do at this speaking engagement.  Let me ask you this, girls.  Have you really wanted to hear from God, and at the same time not wanted to hear from God?  I guess if I were honest, that’s where I was.  I had prayed so long about this, been seeking God’s will and godly counsel–and yet part of me was so nervous about what I might find.  “What if I truly am supposed to leave my job?  Oh my!  Leave my job?!  For something that may happen?”

I was really trying to say yes to God.  But here’s the truth of the matter, ladies.  I wanted to say yes to God as long as I could remain in my comfy place.  I wanted God to fit into my vision of speaking/writing.  That realization hit me like a ton of bricks the night before this conference.  So, I had that on my brain as well as the normal nerves that come  before I speak.  So here we are, back at where I started this story.  Praying for the ladies coming, praying that someone would show up,  praying for God’s will to happen during the talk, praying for discernment on career paths.  Praying, praying…

The first group of ladies filtered into the room.  To introduce this topic, I had a bit of “drama” planned.  As I stood at the window, back to the group, “dusting” the shades, I heard a voice.  No, not an auditory voice that the ladies heard.  I mean a Voice that spoke deep within my spirit.  He said, “Is this all you need?  Look.”  I turned around to get the talk started, and I couldn’t believe my eyes.  The room was packed out–so much so that more chairs were brought in and ladies had to wait for the next session!  I had to turn back around to the window for a second.  Tears of gratitude, fear, and finally acceptance were in my eyes.  God showed me in a way that I could understand–speaking and writing were my future.  Before I started my talk, I thanked our Lord and made a promise to leave the job in the next few months.  The talk went fabulously and I received many positive comments from the ladies in my session.  God gave me a glimpse of what can happen when I just say “yes.”

So what about you?  Do you have something going on in your life that just needs you to say “yes?” “Whatever God says do, do it,” says Lysa Terkeurst in her book  What Happens When Women Say Yes to God?.  I am proof positive that, when a woman says yes, her life can be completely changed through whatever it is that God is asking.  Spend some time in prayer, then go to it.  Five years ago I would have never expected my life to be as it is now, but I know beyond a doubt that I am on the path that God planned.  Proverbs 16:9 in the NIV says, “In their hearts humans plan their course, but the Lord establishes their steps.”  That verse allows me to continue to say “yes” to God without fear or doubt.  Take a step, say yes.  See what the Lord has in store for you.

And since you’re getting good at saying “yes,” would you like to extend that “yes” to dessert?

If so, give this a try.  It’s Chocolate Bundt Cake, the perfect chocolate dessert for those choco-holics  you  know!

Chocolate Bundt Cake Recipe

http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/Chocolate-Bundt-Cake-3#.UKOczYBrUqw.pinterest

14 Comments

  1. Oh Anita this post was perfect! Have you really wanted to hear from God, and at the same time not wanted to hear from God? Yes, right now I feel like I am on the cuspid of something big. Thanks for the encouragement to not be so afraid.

    • Then “say yes,” Joyce! I am praying for you girl!

  2. Oh, how God can show up!!! He hears those quiet whispers of yes and His answer sometimes blows the doors clean off of our expectations, don’t they? Loved this, Anita. And… who doesn’t love a good bundt cake!

    • Isn’t it funny how we are so surprised when He answers? We should live in expectancy, shouldn’t we? And yes, that bundt cake is delish! Glad to see you again! We met at She Speaks…

    • Oh stars, Anita! So sorry to have missed that!!! 🙂

    • It’s all good Missy! We met a lot of ladies that fun-filled, info-packed weekend!! 🙂

  3. faithful girl

    Reblogged this on faith tometi.

    • Thanks for linking me up in your blog!

  4. forhimru2

    Yes! I was to read this post!
    About a month ago, I left a position of 7 years as the program coordinator for a post-abortion ministry at our local pregnancy center. I loved this job! But I felt this tug on my heart to start my own ministry for these women and to write my own story…yikes! I been thinking maybe I didn’t hear right but your story as encouraged me to trust the One who goes before me.
    Thank you!

    • You go girl! Stepping out in faith is tough–but if we are truly going to be “yes girls,” then we have to do what He leads us to do! Congrats on your move! Keep those palms up!

  5. What a great post and one that touched my heart. I too have been praying and praying for an answer, guidance and direction. Your post has given me much to think about. Thank you for sharing. I know God will bless your obedience.

    • Thanks for the encouragement, Veronica 🙂 I will pray for guidance and direction in your situation!

  6. Wonderful post Anita. I dropped by after tonight’s Facebook party. I am willing to say yes. I am still learning to be sure I am hearing Him. I pray God will continue to guide you. 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by! I understand about the still learning to be sure Whom you are hearing! May we both become stronger in that area!

Tell me what you think!

