Small…

I am doing an experiment today.  I will be writing for five minutes and posting it onto Lisa Jo’s Five Minute Friday blog.  Hop on over and check it out.   The topic is small, so here goes.

I have sixty blueberry bushes in my front yard.  The harvest for them has been PHENOMENAL this year.  And, even though I am thankful for the blessing, I am also thankful that the season is nearing a close.

The berries that remain are much smaller than the ones harvested at the beginning of the season.  I have tasted these small orbs of blue, and have been surprised.  Some of them are pretty much tasteless, while others have almost a concentrated blueberry flavor to them.  That thought of what the berry may taste like prompts me to pick all of the small babies, to maximize my flavor potential.

So, what does this have to do with small?  Well, my berry harvest is significantly smaller now than in June, my berries are significantly smaller than their earlier counterparts, and my time in the bushes is significantly smaller!  Even though my blueberry experience is different now, I still have some to gather.  I am reminded of a verse in Psalms that says, “Taste and see that the Lord is good.”  I am able to see our God’s goodness, even in the small harvest that I am now in.

 

6 Comments

  1. Amen. He is good right up until the end! Stopping by from FMF. Have a blessed weekend!

    • Thanks for stopping by! Enjoy the day!

  2. I love this! No matter what season we are in, or how small the harvest, God is good and worthy of our praise.

    Glad to have met you through FMF. Thanks for leaving a comment at my place today!

    • Thanks! Enjoy all the “small” things that happen today!

  3. Wonderful post. Great analogy. You have beautiful words and I’m so glad you shared them with us today.

    Thank you!

    “Your beginning will seem so small, since your future will flourish.” Job 8:7

    • Thanks! Loved the Bible verse, by the way 🙂

Tell me what you think!

