Just like old times…

I’ve had a wonderful day.

A truly wonderful day. Why? I’ve spent time with women that are so very precious to me. I’ve caught up on their lives, and filled them in on mine. I’ve laughed, I’ve listened, I’ve lunched, I’ve helped. It was just like it used to be.

Now what would possess someone like myself to return to a former workplace? Those very same women that I just mentioned. I’ve been away from them on a day-to-day basis for two years, but you would never know it by our interactions. Do you have relationships in your life like that? Oh, I certainly hope so. What a boost in my overall mood for the day–seeing women who were really glad to see me. No politics, no behind-the-door dealings, none of that stuff. Just genuine emotion, genuine sharing, genuine enjoying. Yes, these ladies were in the process of readying themselves for a new adventure–they were working on this and that. But, they took a moment or two to talk with me–and that was really great. I am such a blessed woman to have people in my life that, even though I don’t see them very often, I still have a relationship with them. I think the verse in Romans suits our friendships nicely: “Laugh with your happy friends when they’re happy; share tears when they’re down. Get along with each other…” (Romans 12:14-15a, MSG)

So, what about you? Do you long for a relationship with someone that can stand the test of time and distance? The easiest way to have one of those is to make friends at work. But the key is this–you’ve got to see them outside of work to truly build a relationship. And I live in the real world, ladies. I know that’s not always possible. If work friends aren’t really a viable option, how about striking up a friendship with someone at church, at the gym, at your child’s preschool, in the grocery store even. All you really need is common ground to jump-start the conversation and that conversation can grow into a lasting friendship. Unfortunately, sometimes we have to reach out of our comfort zone to find what we need. If you aren’t a social person (and I understand that completely!), that can be quite a daunting task. But, we as humans were meant to be in relationships–we weren’t meant to do this thing called life alone!

The most fulfilling relationship that I have in my life is the one with Jesus. I can tell Him anything, and I mean anything, and I know beyond a doubt that He hears me. You may be thinking, “Yes, but I can’t call Jesus in the middle of the night and eat ice cream with Him.” Well, that’s true. But, you can ask Him to bring someone in your life with whom you can do that and so much more. He only wants the best for us, and He wants us to be surrounded by people who love us and understand all our little quirks (or maybe I’m the only one with those!) Pray for God to bring a special friend, or a group of friends, into your life. Be patient as He works, then take advantage of the friendships that are offered to you. I have several groups of friends, and I do different stuff with each group. I am, as I said before, a very blessed woman. I pray you will also enjoy the blessings that friendship brings.

When you get together with your friends, food always seems to be in the mix. Why not surprise those sweet people with something super yummy? Plan a brunch with everyone bringing a little something something. When you walk in with these…oh girl. You will become the belle of the brunch! Believe me, they are that good!

DSC05448

Baked Chocolate Donuts–check them out at:

http://themilkmanswife.wordpress.com/2011/08/09/chocolate-crush/

Tell me what you think!

