The great life? Be filled…

“I am the Lord your God,
    who brought you up out of Egypt.
Open wide your mouth and I will fill it.”  Psalm 81:10

Have you ever really thought about that verse?  I mean really, really unpacked it and thought about it?  I have to admit that I hadn’t…until now!

Our God is awesome, isn’t He?  Think of all the things He has given you just this morning:  strength to get out of bed, air to breathe, water to both refresh you inside and outside (at least I hope you’ve had a shower by now 🙂 ), food to fill your stomach, a home to provide shelter from the heat, health to enable you to workout (again, hope you’ve done that!), brainpower to read this post, someone to show you love, a reliable way to get to work, a job that pays the bills.  I’m sure I’ve missed something, but I know that list got you thinking.  Take a moment right now ladies and thank Him for being YOUR Lord and God.  If you aren’t sure that He is your God, please find someone in your life who can talk with you about Him.  Find a nearby church and visit Sunday.  People will be there who can help you with your questions and introduce you to the God of the universe, the One who has given you all the blessings of your life.

Now, about the Egypt part.  I haven’t personally been to Egypt, but I have had many situations where God has “brought me up out of.” Sickness both of body and soul, grief, anger, lies, hate, envy, selfishness, pity, idolatry, pride, chaos,… Oh that list could go on and on.  But thanks be to my God, He did not leave me in any of those things.  He brought me out, He showed me His way, He strengthened me to walk a different path.  I know, because I live in this world, that there will be more places where God will have to “bring me out of.”  I think I can speak for all of us when I say that.  Maybe you are in one of those places now.  Take heart, my sweet lady.  Our Savior has overcome the world: “In this world  you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.” John 16:33. We don’t have to stay  in our own personal “Egypt.” Stop reading right now; ask God to bring you out of whatever situation you are in.  Keep praying in faith, and believe that He is already at work in your life.  Your “Egypt” is not a permanent dwelling place.

The final part of Psalm 81:10 is an interesting one: “Open wide your mouth, and I will fill it.”  Hmmm…  When I think of opening my mouth wide, I am reminded of part of my past that I will share with you.  In high school, I had a seriously loud mouth–I mean seriously!  And unfortunately, what usually came out of that loud mouth was not God-honoring in the slightest.  During one pep rally before a football game, we had a contest to see who would win “Mouth of the Valley” (or something like that).  Anyway, we had to scream some words to a cheer as loud as we could.  No, I didn’t win (surprisingly!), but I came in a close second.  As I think about that now, how amazing would it be if I could scream the words of God as loudly as I screamed the words of a funny little cheer.  I am not loud now at all; in fact, my family often tells me that I need to speak up.  So how does all this relate to the verse?  I think that part means simply this:  my mind needs to remain focused on God, so that when I am in situations where I can proclaim Jesus, my mouth will be filled with the words that He wants me to say.  Not the words of Nita–those sometimes get jumbled around, lose their punch when they are spoken, and may not always be the best things to say.  No, I need to be prepared to speak of God whenever the opportunity arises: boldly, unashamedly, fearfully, reverently, undoubtedly, truthfully.  I don’t have to scream to be noticed.  A mouth that speaks the Words of God will be heard, even in the midst of chaos.  So, I challenge you to take the time right now and think about what comes out of your mouth.  Is is God-honoring or self-honoring? Remember the words of Luke 6:45: “A good man brings good things out of the good stored up in his heart, and an evil man brings evil things out of the evil stored up in his heart. For the mouth speaks what the heart is full of.”  Fill your heart up with God and His truths. Allow Him to work in your life, so that when you speak, your love of God will flow out of your words.  “Open wide” so that He can fill you up.

And speaking of being filled up, check out this recipe.  It’s a great one to enjoy these still-warm afternoons.

 It’s called grilled pineapple-chicken kabob packets.  I know you and your family will love them!

Grilled Pineapple-Chicken Kabob Packets

2 Comments

  1. “Our Egypt is not our permanent dwelling place!” You are so right! We have everything we need to move forward and live in the land of abundance if we choose to obey. Thank you for sharing today Anita! And that recipe looks yummy!! 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by! By unpacking this verse, I’ve really come to have a deeper understanding of what it means personally! And yes, the recipe is delish 🙂

Tell me what you think!

