It’s a choice…

Have you ever had one of those days that didn’t start out as you planned?  I had one of those today.

I was getting ready to head out the door for work, when something made me look outside.  My dog was barking, and all the goats were huddled together.  Something wasn’t right.  So, I looked outside, and called my man to come out to see because things didn’t look as they should. Sure enough, they weren’t.  The man came to the rescue so to speak and solved the problem.  I went on to work a bit later than I had planned.

Now, I know stuff happens in the mornings.  I don’t even have to give you examples because you know what kind of stuff happens in the mornings.  Granted, what happened today was not a typical “happening,” but it still threw my day off a bit.  That’s what the “stuff in the morning” does–interrupts your flow.  The question isn’t IF it happens to you, the question is WHEN it happens to you, how do you respond?  Do you let that thing impact your entire day?  Do you yell and fuss and get it out of your system?  Do you hold it in until something totally unrelated happens, and then you lose it?  All of those potential reactions could have been mine today–and I’m not going to sit here and say that those reactions have never been the ones I have chosen.  Did you catch what I said?  I said choose.

Every day we have a choice:  to go through the day looking for the positive or negative, to let things slide off our backs or keep them strapped on, to be a Joyful Joyce or a Negative Nelly.  I must say I wasn’t sure how I was going to go through my day after the happenings of the morning.  But, I work at a great place, with great people.  I came in, talked a bit about it and got it out of my system before the “work” of the day began.  I chose to be a Joyful Joyce.  Honestly, I choose to be a Joyful Joyce most days (and when I don’t, the choice is obvious quickly!).  How about you?  You may not even be aware of the choice you make each day to show various emotions.  But you do, and others either benefit or suffer because of it.  Even if you have “stuff” going on that’s major, you can still make the decision to be joyful.  “He will yet fill your mouth with laughter and your lips with shouts of joy” says Job 8:21.  Remember that Job had some “major” stuff going on in his world, yet he believed that God could and would supply him with joy.  The same God who did that then is still here today.  He can fill you with joy and give your heart a pick-up.  Really, do you want that?  Then ask for it.  Our God loves you and wants to fill you with His presence and peace: both of which can give you a deep joy that doesn’t depend on circumstance.

Speaking of choice and joy, I wanted to give you a recipe that, if you choose to make it, your family will be joyful–very joyful.  Try this pumpkin crunch cake.  Oh my, oh my, oh my!

Pumpkin Crunch Cake

 

Tell me what you think!

