Peace…

Do you think it’s possible to live so long with a peaceful feeling, that when true peace comes, it’s hard to recognize?  I used to think that couldn’t happen, but now I know differently.

You see, I have recently returned to a full-time job.  The crazy thing is, I wasn’t looking for a job, it just kind of fell in my lap.  Ever had something like that happen to you?  Well, I knew then that God had a hand in that–and I had to accept the position.  Let me tell you girls–I had no regrets about leaving a similar job a couple years ago–and I also had no real intention of returning.  But, (one of the biggest words in the world; it can change everything) when the job was offered and I prayed about it, there was a real deep peace.  Yes girls I know I have the peace of God which transcends all understanding (Philippians 4:7), but this was peace upon peace if you can understand that.  I knew with all my being that it was the right thing to do.  I haven’t regretted going back because, even when things get a bit crazy, I still know that I am doing what I should.  That’s where the peace comes from–knowing God’s will for your life in that moment and acting on it.  Is it a tough thing to do?  You bet!  Is it worth the work, the moments of decision, the change in schedule and life for such a time as this?  Absolutely!  Knowing that I am where I should be doing what I should be is more gratifying than I can say.  Knowing that the God of the universe planned this for me is both humbling and exhilarating at the same time.  Living in the freedom and peace that comes from a surrendered relationship is what makes the peace of God both attainable and sustainable.

So, what about you?  Are you searching for that peace?  Are you going through a situation where you are in desperate need of guidance?  Have you laid it all at the feet of Jesus–and more importantly, have you left it there?  Trust God to meet you where you are, to guide you, to give you a future and a hope (Jeremiah 29:11).  Take some time and truly talk with God; talk and then truly listen.  It is in those moments that your relationship with Him will deepen as He guides you to the next step in your life with Him.

To help you have more time to spend with our Savior, I have given you a recipe for the crockpot.  Throw all the ingredients in first thing in the morning, and come home to a delightful smelling house.  Add a side salad to Slow Cooker Taco Soup ,  some tortilla chips and sour cream for toppings, and you are set for a wonderfully healthy meal to serve the family.  Yummy, yummy, yummy!

Slow Cooker Taco Soup Recipe

Tell me what you think!

