The gift…

With only 11 days left until Christmas, I have to ask…what are you doing with the gifts?  Now I know you thought I was going to ask if you had all your gifts purchased (I won’t ask that, because then I would have to admit that I don’t have all mine yet…oh wait, that’s what I just did 🙂 )  Nope I am speaking specifically about the gifts you have been given by Christ–what are you doing with those?

The Christmas season has a way of making us more charitable towards others–many organizations report a boom in donations during the holidays.  We may smile more, hold the door for others, even volunteer to purchase items to give away.  Why is that?  Maybe it ‘s because on some level we recognize the “giving” that happened when God gave us His Son, and we want to give in whatever form we can.  I’m not trying to  be deeply psychological–just thinking out loud.

But the real question is not as easy to answer.  We have been given much ladies–much more than we know.  So what are we doing with what we’ve been given?  What are we doing with the love, joy, peace, security, contentment that comes through Jesus?  Have we just wrapped them up in pretty paper and placed them in the closet–waiting for the day when we ourselves have to unwrap them?  Are we keeping those gifts for ourselves?  Oh sister, how I hope the answer is no!

There are times in our lives when we personally need those gifts that I discussed–and I totally believe that God provides those to us.  But here’s the kicker–I know that we also have those things in abundance right now, and that abundance should be shared with others.  Luke 6: 38 (NIV) says, “Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.”  If you have love, share it.  If you have joy, show it.  If you have peace, security, contentment–shine it.  Others need what you and I take for granted, sweetheart.  How you give affects how you receive:  don’t let that be your motivator–instead just give because you can, because you have been blessed, because it’s the right thing to do.

So, what are you going to do with the gifts?  Find a way to give them away.  I am blessed to be working in a situation where I am called upon to give those gifts away daily–it isn’t always easy and not necessarily fun at times–but the gifts that I give come back to me in the most unexpected ways.  You see sister, I give what I have away–but I get so much in return.  Live your life this season and throughout the year as a giver–God has designed you uniquely to share, show, and shine Him.  Have no fear, and live life abundantly through the gifts given so lovingly by our God.

And speaking of giving, I want to share with you one of my newest recipes.  It has also become one of my favorites.  I hope you have time through this busy rush to prepare it for your family–they will happily receive your “gift!”  Try Pasta with Italian Sausage and Pumpkin Sauce .  Your family will love it!

 Since I’m talking about giving–how about another recipe?  For those mornings when you just have to get out the door, try this:  Pumpkin Cheesecake Breakfast Smoothie.  Divine!  Enjoy, my sisters!

Pasta with Italian Sausage and Pumpkin Sauce Allrecipes.com  Yes this is delicious!                     Pumpkin Cheesecake Breakfast Smoothie | Cooking Classy

 

Tell me what you think!

