It doesn’t happen very often…

Hello out there!

I have returned to the blog!  Life has been kind of crazy, and I am finding it easier to post daily to Facebook than here.  I hope to post here once a week, with detailed recipes and whatnot.

So, my day today has started fabulously.  I went with my man and our puppy Nala on a two-mile run this morning.  It was 62 degrees in July!  In North Carolina, no less!  Thus the title of today…it doesn’t happen very often!  Believe me when I say, we are definitely enjoying the cooler temps and lower humidity.  Oh, if only it would stay…

How many times in our lives girls do we wish that?  If only my kid would stay this age…If only my husband would stay this attentive…If only my church would stay in this frame of worship…If only my job would stay this way…  I could go on and on with this list, and I’m sure you could add to it as well.  Unfortunately you have probably been around long enough to know that nothing stays the same.  Nothing…well, not quite.

The love of our Savior stays the same.  Take a moment and thank God for that!  No matter what you do, what you say, how you feel, where you go, how you rebel…His love is still there.  I don’t know about you, but that is such an awesome truth for me to even try to comprehend.  I guess it’s because I’m human, and I honestly don’t know if I’ve loved anyone with the same intensity consistently.  I know it’s bad for me to admit that…but I hope if you are honest, you could say the same.  Yes I love my man, I love our children, I love my mom, I love my extended family…but girls, sometimes they do things that make me mad and that love, while still there, isn’t the most prevalent emotion.  To think that God loves us regardless of what we do…I am so humble.  Jeremiah 31:3 says, “…I have loved you with an everlasting love…”  Everlasting, girls… never ending…never failing…always there…  Wow!

So what do we do to deserve that love?  Sadly, nothing.  We can do nothing to earn God’s love, just as we can do nothing to lose His love.  There are, however, those in the world who don’t know His love.  That’ s where we come in.  Not only can we tell others of the love of Jesus, but we can also show them.  Now you may be thinking…”The opportunity to show God’s love doesn’t happen very often.”  To that I say WRONG.  We do not have to go on a mission trip to a foreign country to show God’s love to others.  Your mission field, and my mission field, is right where you are.  I was recently in a church where, above the exit door, was a banner that said, “You are now entering your mission field.”  That is so true ladies.  Wherever you are is your place to minister.  Your job, your gym, your school, your church, your grocery store, your playground, your ball field, your home, your neighborhood, your…  You get what I’m saying.  God loves us with an everlasting love; we need to show that love to others because of His love for us.

Today, find some way to show God’s love to others.  Your situation is different from mine, and the ways that I show love may not work for you.  Spend time in prayer, and then put love in action.  Show someone God’s love–you may even want to do it anonymously.  How you choose to show is up to you.  But show girls.  Show and show and show and show.  It’s the least we can do for the God Who loves us.  Make “showing God’s love” something that happens very often for you.

One way that I show love is by cooking.  I absolutely love making  food for others; and when they enjoy it, I receive such a blessing.  My recipe for today is one that you could use to shower some love.  It’s Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie Recipe

Doesn’t that look delicious?  Trust me, anyone who tastes this pie will feel the love you have for them–unless they don’t like chocolate–yes those silly people do exist out there 🙂

Try this today, and show love for someone.  The blessing will be yours as you bless someone else!  Enjoy your day!

 

Tell me what you think!

