Try it Tuesday–Aug. 5th

Hello girls!

I am trying something different today–as I probably will many days–and I appreciate you hanging with me during my experiments!

This post is to my blog, with a link to my social media page.  I am hoping to boost readership to this blog, and I would love for you to share this on your page or tell your friends to stop by.

OK, our verse comes from 2 Kings 21:6–“He (Manasseh) sacrificed his own son in the fire, practiced sorcery and divination, and consulted mediums and spiritists. He did much evil in the eyes of the LORD, provoking him to anger.”  I know, go ahead and say it; “What kind of verse is this to write about?”  Come along with me–it’s going to be an interesting ride.

Like you, when I read this verse and then subsequently felt God prompting me to use it as our theme, I had some serious questions.  “What am I going to write about this?”  “How is this going to be inspirational?” “Will this turn my sweet ladies off to this blog?”  I hope, by the time we reach the end of this, you will understand why God had us stop on this verse.

Think for a minute girls.  What is our society like today?  This country, land of the free and home of the brave, looks much different than when it was constitutionalized.  Yes, technology constantly changes our ability to communicate and gain knowledge.  That’s just the way it is.  I’m talking about our human nature–do you think our ancestors had any clue about how American society has changed?  Do you think they would have been so tolerant of the things we see daily?  Some would say our viewpoints have evolved into a more  advanced way of thinking–that the lines between right and wrong are so blurred, that most things are seen in the “grey areas” instead of black and white.

Keeping that in mind, look again at our verse.   In our society, we have parents willfully taking the lives of their own children (sacrificed his own son).  People consult the stars, read their horoscopes–we flock to the latest sci-fi or horror movie (practiced sorcery and divination).  Psychics, new-age lifestyle gurus, “churches” offer advice on the future (consulted mediums and spiritists).  We are living in such an advanced technological time–and in such an impoverished moral time.  Girls, look at the last part of the verse–could that be our future?  Our society does much evil; can the anger of the Lord be far behind? Do we already see it in the things that are happening around us?

What can we, those who believe the Bible is true and that there is only One True God, do while living in this time?  I know what you are thinking–what can I do?  I’m only one person, and society has me outnumbered.  Well, that is true–but you aren’t one person.  You have the all-powerful, all-sufficient, all -knowing, all-seeing, Almighty God on your side.  Amos 5:14–“Seek good,not evil, that you may live. Then the Lord God Almighty will be with you, just as you say he is.”  I John 5:19:  “We know that we are children of God, and that the whole world is under the control of the evil one.”  We must girls, stand strong.  Resist the urge to do those things that we know in our hearts are wrong.  If you aren’t sure what the right thing is, stop.  Pray.  Make no decision until you hear from God.  Have the courage to be different.  Realize that you will be ridiculed, harassed, teased, maybe even harmed physically or emotionally.  I am fully aware of the fact that some of you reading this may disagree wholeheartedly with what I am saying.  I also know that you may take offense to some of my writing.  I, like you, will need to remember the words of I Peter 3:17– “For it is better, if it is God’s will, to suffer for doing good than for doing evil.”

So here’s my “try-it Tuesday” tip:  Just for today, think of one area of your life that you know you need some work–maybe it’s tv shows, or reading material, or internet sites, or language, or thoughts, or…  Today, do the right thing in that area–turn off the tv, put down the book, step away from the computer, stop yourself from saying or thinking those “colorful” things.  Ask God to help you with it; ask also for the courage to do so–because others will notice the difference in you and may make fun of your choices.  But girls, let me say this without a doubt:  God will not make fun of you, will not turn His back on you, will not stop being your friend.  It’s time ladies for us to be different, to act like God’s daughters instead of just chicks running around on this planet.  Be bold, stand tall, and rejoice–you are a child of the King–act like it!

 

New recipes are another aspect of “try-it Tuesday.”  Some of God’s girls have a love for cooking–and even if you aren’t one of them, I think this recipe is quick and simple enough that you should try it.  Greek-Style Ravioli is a delicious dish that uses some ready-made products from your local grocery store.  Try it tonight with a simple salad.

Greek-Style Ravioli Recipe.  Add kalamata olives, reduce meat from whole package, add more greek seasoning

Published by anitafessler

I am a Christian author of women's Bible studies. I have spoken at women's conferences, providing humor and encouragement to my sisters. This blog in conjunction with my social media page will strive to give glory to my Savior through postings.

Tell me what you think!