Use your spirit of wisdom…

Ephesians 1:17-19 U 1/6/15

Thanks to Jess at Bright Green Door for creating this awesome display of Ephesians 1:17-19.

Welcome to 2015!  It’s great to be back writing on this blog.  I hope to do some new and different things this year as I explore ways to use this platform to honor, praise, and glorify God.

Take a look at our verses. If you have given your heart to Jesus, you can have a spirit of wisdom and revelation.  The eyes of your heart may be enlightened, you may know the hope to which you have been called.  You may share in the riches of His glorious inheritance, and in His incomparably great power.  Take a minute to read that again!  Those are some awesome promises, aren’t they?

So how do you live out Ephesians 1:17-19?  I would have to say the most important thing to do would be to spend time in God’s Word.  My man and I are reading the Bible through again this year; but this year, we are reading it thematically.  It’s been cool seeing how certain themes are present in various books and even various chapters of the Bible.  By not only reading but also studying His Word, I become more “wise” and can offer that wisdom to others. When my heart is open, I can more fully understand the hope I feel in my relationship with Jesus.  If I think about it, I still cannot comprehend what “riches” await me and others who believe in God.  But have felt, feel now, and will feel the awesome power of God at work in my life.  All of these promises can become our reality; however, we have to do our part to accept those promises and show them to others.  When we read these verses again, they just shout out–“tell others about God!”  That’s the best way to use what you learn during your Bible study.  Share your knowledge of Jesus, spread the word about what He’s done for you, offer hope and help through aptly spoken Scripture.  The power of God is at work in you–use His power today in wisdom and hope.

In addition to Scripture, I also want to offer some easy recipes that would help you get a home-cooked meal on the table for your family.  Use that spirit of wisdom that you have received from God–you know that a meal prepared with love totally trumps anything you pick up at the drive-thru!  Today’s recipe comes from The Lazy Gourmet called Garlic Pesto Chicken with Tomato Cream. It’s a fabulous dish–you will need to marinate your chicken overnight so keep that in mind.  Add some fresh fruit, and your meal is complete.  Check out some of the other dishes offered at The Lazy Gourmet.

Look at that picture–wouldn’t your family love to find this on the table?  Of course they would!  Stop back by next week for more bits of wisdom and bites of wonderful!  Til the next spoonful, my dear…

When the Dinner Bell Rings: Garlic Pesto Chicken with Tomato Cream Penne

Tell me what you think!

