Lavish love…

Welcome to the final Fix-It Friday in February!  I just love alliteration!  So, let’s search some Scripture, then dive into a double dose of delicious delights!

how great

Thanks to instapray.com for our graphic!

1 John 3:1 is our focus verse for today.  Stop and re-read the graphic again.  If we are believers in Christ, we are adopted into God’s family.  We are His children, we are children of God Almighty.  Is that not awesome?  Our “Abba Father” holds our future, holds our present, holds our past.  He knows the plans He has for us (Jeremiah 29:11), He knows our hearts (Romans 8:27), He knows everything (1 John 3:20).

That very same God has great love for us.  So great a love that He sent His only Son to die for our sins (John 3:16).  And His love didn’t stop there.  He continues to lavish great love on His children.  I love the word “lavish.”  A Google search for the definition offers these:  “bestow something in generous or extravagant quantities upon,” or “cover something thickly or liberally with.”  Imagine that, my friend.  The love of God being given in “generous or extravagant quantities.”  Close your eyes and rest as you are “covered thickly or liberally” with His unending love.

As I write this, the snow is beginning to fall off the trees.  I can imagine being under those trees, with the snow symbolizing God’s love.  As it falls down on me, I am covered generously with it.  All of me. Every imperfection, every tear, every shame, every pain, every scar, every dream, every disappointment, every anxiety, every fear–all covered thickly and liberally by the love of God.  Wow, what an image.  I don’t think I will ever see snow falling from the trees the same again!

Our God loves us.  It’s that simple.  Just as the snow falls on everyone, the love of God equally falls on us all.  The difference is that we have a choice as to whether or not to accept His love.  I know what it’s like to reject His love, to live without His presence.  I can tell you honestly that life is so much better being lavishly loved by our Father God and His Son Jesus Christ.  I pray you know that love as well.  If not, please find a church to attend this weekend.  Talk with the pastor there.  Listen, ask questions, and accept the love of God through Jesus Christ His Son.  Experience the great love that God has for you.  Let it fall on you; generously, extravagantly, thickly, liberally.  You and your life will forever be changed.

I can’t guarantee that your life will be changed with these recipes, but I can say that your family will devour them and may even lavish some love on you!  Delicious Ham and Potato Soup served alongside Sauteed Apples will make your family rush to the table.  If you’re in the mood, some yummy sweet cornbread would go great with both of these dishes.  I will warn you–these recipes take a bit of time to prepare, so give yourself an hour to get them both completed.  They are well worth your time and effort; they may even become staples in your home.  Give the recipes a try, and if you like them, feel free to comment below.  I love hearing how my writing or the dishes I offer work in your life.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe                                 Sauteed Apples Recipe

Enjoy your weekend!  Come on back Tuesday for another edition of Try-It Tuesday here on Be Very Well Fed!

Tell me what you think!

