Friend…

Try-It Tuesday is here!  As always, we will feast on Scripture, then prepare to feast on a delish recipe!  Let’s go!

He calls

Thanks to instapray for our graphic!

John 15:5 is our target verse today.  The verse in its entirety is: “I (Jesus) no longer call you servants, because a servant does not know his master’s business. Instead, I have called you friends, for everything that I learned from my Father I have made known to you.”  

What does it mean to be a friend to the Savior of the world?  Well, when I think of it that way, I think of the enormity of creation and how I am so small in comparison.  Why would such a powerful being want to be friends with little ‘ole me?  I have no real answer for that–He just does.  Wow!

To better understand this friendship, we must look at the earthly friendships we have.  So…think about a good friend.  Or several good friends.  Maybe even one that you’ve had for a while.  What makes that person a friend to you?

Believe it or not, there are many reasons for friendship and many reasons for non-friendship.  Shared interest, shared sense of humor, shared hair color, shared school, shared neighborhood…  All of these things may get a friendship going initially.  But friends, if those things are all you share, you probably won’t be “friends” for a long time.  Shared history may not be enough to keep a friendship going.  Think of all the friends you had in high school or college–how many of them do you truly count as friends today?  If you are like most people, you probably don’t keep in touch with many of them.  And I hate to break it to you–but being “friends” on social media doesn’t mean you are “friends.”

Lasting friendships have layers.  Initial contact leads to more contact.  More contact leads to more activities.  More activities leads to sharing details.  Sharing details leads to investment of time and emotion.  Investment leads to deepened relationship.  Deepened relationship leads to real friendship.  In honesty, I know a lot of people.  But, I don’t have a lot of “friends,” and that’s OK. Only a select few do I call my close friends (and they are soooo blessed to know me–I’m so humble!).  These chicks are my stability, my strength, my laughter, my tears, my compassion, my lifeline, my…  I could go on and on.  You see, these friendships have layers–we’ve worked through those steps, and have found ourselves at the real friendship level.  We want to be friends, close friends, and we take the time to continue to build that relationship because it’s important to us.

Sweetheart, the same thing can be said about our friendship with Jesus.  He made that initial contact, He encouraged us to do more with Him, He showed us the truths in His word, He prompted us to invest time and emotion, He deepened our relationship and through that, we became His friends.  And unlike human friendships, our Jesus can advance us through those steps very quickly–if we are open to it.  Our friendship is not only important to us, it’s important to Jesus, too.

So the truth is–we have an incredible Friend who encourages us, protects us, disciplines us, provides for us, listens to us, prays for us, invests in us, loves us.  Take a moment and bask in that friendship.  Jesus will never leave us, will never lie to us, will never tempt us.  He will always be the One beside us, guiding us on His path for our good.  Our friendship with Jesus will never end–and one day we will stand face-to-face with the Best Friend we could ever have. And hopefully, our “other” earthly friends will stand there with Him–and oh, what a super-duper fantastical wondrous magnificent joy-fest that will be!  I can’t wait…

Speaking of joy-fest, why not make your family joyous with this dish?   Salsa Cheddar Chicken is a quick, easy meal that will satisfy your loved ones.  Put out some freshly cut apples (soak in water with either lemon juice or salt to kep them from browning), and you are ready to serve a meal that everyone will enjoy.

Salsa-Cheddar Chicken recipe

Have a great week and I’ll see you here Friday!

Tell me what you think!

