A good name…

Hello Try-It Tuesday!  Glad to see you…

being

Thanks Belief Pics for our graphic!

My friends, let me tell you a story.  It’s a story about a young girl with messed up priorities.  So messed up in fact that, instead of accomplishing what she desired, her actions propelled her in the opposite direction.  You see, this young girl wanted so desperately to be accepted.  She wanted so much to be a part of a group, to be popular, to have things she thought others had, to have a more exciting life.  In her quest for those things, she became loud, rude, crass, a liar, a constructor of events in her own imagination.

This young girl didn’t learn any lessons from her behavior.  In fact, she saw nothing really wrong with it.  But, then she had something significant (at the time) happen in her life.  This young girl’s behaviors and attitude was put under the judgement of other people, and those other people stopped her from doing something that she really enjoyed.  These other people didn’t know how much that something meant to the girl, they didn’t know that she was finally feeling a part of something, they didn’t know that she was feeling accepted for who she was.  Nope, all these people saw was a rude, crass girl in a position that represented the school–they didn’t like it, maybe they didn’t like her, and they took away something that could have made a difference.  The sad part is that the young girl had gotten what she wanted.  She was popular all right.  She was known for all the wrong reasons…

So how did she react?  Did she stop being so “socially unacceptable?”  No, she became even more loud, rude, crass. The lies continued, the imagination went even further down the wrong path. After all, she thought, if people think I’m worthless, why not act that way?   This behavior went on and on, growing more and more pervasive, until finally she could see no other way to be.  The damage was done, the hurt was complete, the lies were woven.  There was no way out.

This young girl did not have a “good name,” as our verse says.  Do you know how difficult it is to gain a good name after you have lost it?  Nearly impossible, because everyone remembers how you “used to be.”  This young girl finished her high school career without a good name, without a feeling of acceptance, without…  She needed a Savior.

Thankfully, the young girl was found by the Savior.  Since then, the young lady has been known as someone who is growing in the Lord, looking for acceptance not from people, but from God.  That young lady, who is now this not-as-young-lady, has found the value in being known for good things.  I know without a doubt that my “good name” is because of God–without Him, I’m just a young girl looking for popularity in people’s eyes.  I now guard that “good name”–but not for myself.  In actions and words, I represent Christ; by keeping my “good name,” I give Him the honor and glory that He deserves in my life.  I am so thankful that Christ didn’t give up on me when I was younger. Even when I did not honor Him, He knew that one day I would be sitting here writing this–giving every drop of glory and praise to the One Who loves me in spite of me.  That One, my sweet, is Jesus Christ.

He loves you too my friend.  No matter what you’ve done, or thought, or said.  My past isn’t snowy white; no one’s is. That doesn’t matter.  When we accept Jesus as our Savior, we are seen as holy, blameless, white as snow–all through the blood of Jesus.  I for one am a humble sinner who thanks God daily for His provision of grace and mercy in my life.  I pray you do the same.

Speaking of provision, how about a delicious, simple meal that your family will enjoy?  Cheeseburger Wraps use ingredients that you probably have in your pantry.  The combination of flavors in this recipe will definitely remind you of a cheeseburger–I added pickles to my wrap for an added crunch (plus, I love pickles anytime I can get them!). Give this a try tonight–your family will be so happy!

cheeseburger wraps

Have a great week and I’ll see you Friday!

Tell me what you think!

