Try…

I am venturing back into the Five Minute Friday world today and writing on the prompt of “try.”

“Am I now trying to win the approval of human beings, or of God?

Or am I trying to please people?

If I were still trying to please people, I would not be a servant of Christ.”

Galatians 1:10

How many things do I try each day?

I try to keep the house clean.  I try to stay busy.  I try to exercise.  I try to play with my dog.  I try to have a nutritious meal for my family.  I try to read my Bible.  I try to make contact with friends.  I try to be kind to those I meet.  I try to…

As I think about all those things I try, I have to look at them through the lens of Galatians 1:10.  How many of those “tries” are related to human approval?  Sadly, most of them.

So, how do I make a better list of “tries?”

Well, perhaps I need to try to keep God first in my life.  Maybe I need to try to be His hands and feet wherever I go.  I suppose I need to try harder to model Him and His attributes in each situation.

If I were to truly succeed in those “tries,” I would be seeking the approval of God.  My fellow humans may not be so accepting of those “Christ-like qualities” in me.  Sometimes I just want to be selfish, not selfless; I want to be petty instead of forgiving.  Trying to be like God means trying not to be like…me.

You see, we have to try harder to be like Christ.  And we don’t always want to do that.  It’s easier to be “human,” and ask forgiveness for our actions instead of trying to act in accordance with Christ.

But we have to try.  And I guess that’s all He really asks of us…

2 Comments

  1. Isn’t it true that trying to be like Jesus may look nothing like trying to please others (and ourselves). Thank you for the reminder. Dropping by today from Five Minute Friday.

  2. denise

    amen, so very true.

Tell me what you think!

