Apple of Your eye…

keep me

Thanks to Johnson’s Ferry Women for our graphic today!

Hello there!

It’s good to be back!  I have missed writing on the blog, and I’m soooo glad you’re here with me!

Our verse for today is one that makes me smile:  Psalm 17:8– “Keep me as the apple of your eye; hide me in the shadow of your wings…”  Take a moment and think about that, my friend!

You’ve heard the expression “apple of my eye,” right?  I’m the curious sort, so I researched this idiom (token figurative language reference for all you grammar lovers!).  Here’s what I found via urbandictionary.com :

“Apple of my eye–One’s favorite person; the one you love most.
In Old English, the pupil of the eye (the round, dark center) was called the ‘apple’. It was thought that the pupil was a round object much like an apple (a piece of fruit). When you look at someone, their reflection appears in your pupil. So if someone is the ‘apple of your eye’, he or she is someone that you look at a lot and enjoy seeing.”

Wow!  Scripture tells us that each of us are the “apple of God’s eye.” We are loved the most by Him.  He looks at us a lot, and enjoys seeing us.

Doesn’t that make your heart smile?  Seriously.  Though unfathomable to our small human brains, the God of the universe can look at each person individually and love her/him just as much as any other.  There are many “apples of God’s eye,” but we each are loved for our own uniqueness.  Unbelievable!  Thanks be to God!

Unfortunately, there are times when those “apples” stray from the path of righteousness–so do we then become “sour apples?”  Nope.  There is nothing we could do, good or bad, that would change God’s love for us.  NOTHING!  We remain good “apples”–that’s not saying that we are given the freedom to willfully sin–that’s another writing!  What I am saying is that when we fall short (and we all do!), our God doesn’t stop looking at us with favor.  God doesn’t stop loving us.  God doesn’t love us any less when we fail.    We are kept safely in the “shadow of (His) wings.” Isn’t that amazing?

So today, I encourage you to live in the knowledge of being an “apple.”  Lavish that unconditional love that you receive on others.  Being the “apple of God’s eye” means freedom–freedom to love, freedom to try, freedom to fail, freedom to succeed, freedom to grow, freedom to stretch, freedom to… Spend time in prayer asking God what being an “apple” gives you freedom to do.  You may be surprised at the answer…

In honor of being an apple (figuratively, not literally), I thought I’d share with you one of my favorite apple recipes.  It’s easy to make, and your family will love it!  sautéed apples is a great side dish any time of year–but it is a wonderful way to use some of those apples that we will soon pick!

sauteed apples

Have an awesome Tuesday, and I’ll see you again soon!

Tell me what you think!

