I didn’t take the out…

Hello and welcome back!

My hiatus from the blog has ended…I think…so I’m here writing about something very personal.  Thanks for joining me!

faithful

Our verse for today is often quoted, often thought about, often used.  And unfortunately, it can often be ignored.

You see, I was in a situation very recently.  Not an unhealthy or sinful situation.  Just a situation.

I began doing something that I enjoy.  I had NEVER thought of that activity as anything but interesting.

Over the course of an hour or so, however, that activity became a stumbling block, a temptation, something I should avoid.

But here’s the kicker…I didn’t take the out.

Nope, instead I continued in that activity.  I ignored the soft warning voice.  I chugged onward in pursuit of another try, another taste, another experience.

Until I FINALLY realized that I should stop–but the damage had already been done.

My friend, because I didn’t take the out, I had consequences–physical, spiritual, emotional.  The kinds that you never like to have; well, I had.

The next day, the very first thing that popped in my head was our verse.  And it stayed there…for a long time…until I started confessing to God.

Did He need me to confess in order to know what had happened?  No, but I needed to tell Him anyway; to clear my heart, to clear my head, to clear my spirit.

Sweetheart, I had no idea that what I was doing would impact me as it did.  My God clearly identified this as a major stumbling block in my life–one I need to be keenly aware of and on my guard against.  The funny thing about this is that I had turned away from it years ago, and it had just recently re-surfaced in my life.  Never would I have thought this to be an avenue through which satan could tempt me (and succeed).

So I became a woman humbled.  A woman defeated.  A woman who didn’t take the out.

BUT, in the face of our greatest failures, our God shows His greatest love.  After I had spoken words of sorrow to Him, He spoke words of forgiveness to me.  He loves me, in spite of me.  He knew that this day would come.  He knew that I would be full of sadness and regret.  He knew that I would need His reassurance.  He knew…

So I sit here today a woman loved.  A woman covered in grace.  A woman forgiven, once again.

My sweet, I have told you this story to tell you this–my God cannot love me any less because of the mistakes I’ve made in the past, the mistakes I will make today, the mistakes I will make in the future.

We will be tempted in this world.  It’s a sad fact of a fallen world.

But look again at our verse, I will give you the complete version:  “No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, He will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.”  Our God is faithful–He is standing beside you when you face that temptation.  He will give you a way out…

…but you have to take it.

So today, I pray that we each stand strong against the ways of our enemy.  I pray that we are looking at our world with our eyes wide open, constantly vigilant, looking for the entrapments that are all around.  I pray that we will listen to the small voice that whispers when we find ourselves deep in temptation.

And mostly… I pray that we will take the out.

Tell me what you think!

