Before you call…

before

Thanks to Just Being Me for our graphic!

Have you ever been so close to someone who seems to know your thoughts?

You know–they can finish your sentences, understand your ramblings, interpret your half-intelligible mumblings.

Someone who knows you and “gets you.”

Our verse today shows that our Creator is Someone Who does all those things and more.

What an awesome thought!

You see friend, sometimes we just don’t know what to pray.  The words won’t come, or we don’t think we are eloquent enough to stand before the throne of God.  For a long while, I didn’t pray in public.  I didn’t want people to hear me fumble over words, get tongue-tied, or listen in silence as I tried to state some request.  Honestly, the thought pretty much terrified me!’

As is the case in most areas of my life, the Lord did a mighty work.  He placed me in a leadership position in a women’s ministry–which forced my quiet prayers to become outward, heard-by-all prayers.  I won’t sit here and say that those first out-loud prayers were magnificent–nope, they weren’t.  But…what I learned is this:  I don’t have to be a polished pray-er to offer my prayers to God.  Yes, in time the words came easier, and God replaced that fear of praying out loud with a simple boldness that certainly comes from Him.

Our verse says that He knows what we are going to say, and hears us even before we finish our thought.  What an incredible truth!

So why do we need to pray out loud?  Sweetheart, I believe when we pray out loud, we are being an example to others.  We can show that vulnerability that comes with placing our burdens and needs at the foot of our Savior.  We can be an encouragement to those who are hesitant to pray aloud.  Mostly, I believe that we are following in the footsteps of our Savior–He prayed aloud many times; and if the Creator of the universe prayed for all to hear, then we should do the same when the situation arises.

So today, I want to encourage you.  If you find yourself in a place where a group is praying out loud, step out in faith. Many times, I have felt my heart nearly beating out of my chest during “aloud prayer.”  I truly believe that is the Holy Spirit working in me, so much so that I have to speak!  His promptings and leadings have opened my mouth and my heart to pray words of comfort, healing, encouragement, support, unity, joy, sorrow.  He will do the same for you.

Become the prayer warrior you were destined to be.  Open your heart to the possibilities–and pray.

Tell me what you think!

