It’s tough being a mom…

hall blogSo I sit in my living room, the quiet almost deafening.

How could this be the same house?  Only hours before, it was filled with laughter and conversations.

And now…

 

 

It’s tough being a mom.  I know I don’t have to tell you that, but I’m telling you that. mom little blog

We work and fuss and cry and fuss and clean and fuss and nurture and fuss and discipline and fuss and sigh and fuss and …

What do we get in return?  There are days when the only “get” we receive is to go to bed exhausted.  Vowing to never do the things we did that day again.  Wondering how we will ever survive this stage of childhood.  Imagining the day when we won’t have to do these things.  Wishing our children were older.

 

Then, in the blink of an eye, they are.  With their own lives.  With their own finances blogapartments.  With their own food choices.  With their own laundry (and they do it!).  With their own bills to pay (and they pay them!).  With their own careers (or in preparation for them).

It’s at that point where motherhood is supposed to get easier, right?  This is the moment we dreamed of when we were knee-deep in: tantrums, toys, puke, poop, read-this-book-one-more-time,  ball practice, ball games, sibling arguments, missed curfews, having “the talk”, driving lessons, fender-benders, first dates, second dates, vacations that didn’t seem like a vacation… This is a great place to be… isn’t it???

I can honestly say that having grown children is a crazy place–but it’s an awesome place.  I just had my two boys home with me–and the joy in my heart was nearly uncontainable.  I cooked large meals (and most of it was eaten!). I cleaned lots of dishes.  I listened to witty conversations.  I enjoyed the playful verbal teasing.  I picked up cups.  I picked up coats.  I cleaned up messes.

And…all of it was absolutely wonderful!  No grudgingly picking up for the millionth time.  No exasperated sighs as I gave instructions for the billionth time.  No, those days are past. I don’t look at the things I do through the eyes of a weary, sleep-deprived, teetering-on-the-edge-of-insanity mom.  No, now I am a mom who “gets” to do the types of things that once drove me nuts for my kids.  Being on this side of parenting is tough because I don’t see them every day.  But when I do, I realize the blessing.  With adult kids come adult responsibilities and sometimes they just can’t make it home.  But this weekend, they did.  My kids chose to come here and spend time with me (and their dad of course). And all was right with the world.

So for those of you still knee-deep in daily parenting, take heart.  One day you will not be doing the things you are today.  One day they will go to the bathroom by themselves.  One day they will pick up their own toys.  One day the kids will move away.  One day your house will be quiet.  One day your floors will be clean.

And you will be waiting anxiously for the day when messes once again cover your home and laughter fills your hallways.

Behold, children are a gift of the Lord, the fruit of the womb is a reward.  Psalm 127:3

IMG_0136Vacation 2008_004IMG_1880

Here are a few pictures of our boys–with our goats, on vacay, and recently as grown kids with their dad and me. Every moment is precious, my friend.  Enjoy them all!

Tell me what you think!

