Refreshed…

I love a good water feature!

Check out these pics of some of the amazing ones I’ve seen with my man on our adventures…

img_0157      img_2235montana-water     morrow-mountain-water

Yep, I’m a real crazy woman about water features…

As my man, our dog, and I were hiking recently, God was speaking to me as He usually does in these times. With the accompaniment of a lovely water feature in the background, He started talking with me about water.  He started talking to me a lot about water (and it isn’t necessarily the best thing to do when you are hiking 7 miles without the modern-day convenience of a bathroom…but I digress…)

My sweet, I was walking alongside a water feature created by my Creator, and He was speaking to my heart about water–but not just any water.  Oh no, this water can make a difference in a life…an eternal difference…

Remember the story of Jesus and the Samaritan woman in John 4?  He asked her for a drink of water, but then moved away from the physical water to the spiritual water.  Jesus told her, “If you knew the gift of God and Who it is that asks you for a drink, you would have asked Him and He would have given you living water” (John 4:10).  I’m sure this probably messed with the woman’s mind–living water? What?

But Jesus didn’t leave her to wonder–check out verses 13 and 14 of that chapter: “Jesus answered, ‘Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.’” 

thirst-no-more

Thanks to The Radiant Wife for this awesome graphic!

Jesus was offering more than just a thirst quencher, more than a temporary fix, more than a jar that would have to continually be refilled.  He was offering her refreshment–ultimate, total, continual–refreshment.

Doesn’t that sound amazing?

Let me take you back to my hike.  I didn’t dip my toes in the water (as some of my friends love to do!), but I did put my fingers in the stream.  The water was cool, refreshing to my hand–and sooooo very soothing to my soul!  As I’ve said, I love a good water feature, and the one that babbled peacefully nearby as we walked was truly a fantastic one. There is just something about water that calms my spirit, restores my peace, refreshes my entire being.  I’m not sure anything in creation even comes close to how water speaks to me…

The same can be said for the living water that Jesus referenced to the Samaritan woman… 

Friend, living water can do more for you than even the most beautiful water feature in the world.  Living water fills you, keeps on filling you, keeps on cleansing you, keeps on refreshing you–from the day you ask Jesus to be Lord of your life until the day He takes you to be with Him forever.  Living water is the Spirit of God–living inside every believer, providing guidance and cleansing and refreshment each moment of each day.

Couldn’t we all use some refreshment…

As a God-follower, that cool water that refreshed me physically also is symbolic of how Jesus refreshes me spiritually.  Spending time with Him, reading His Word, asking for His guidance, looking to Him for decision-making wisdom–all of those things and sooooo many more calm my spirit.  I don’t have to do each day alone, I don’t have to keep going back to the “well” to quench my thirst.  That living water springs up eternally in me–all I have to do is dip my fingers in the flow, settle my soul on its’ banks, listen to the melody that it sings as I rest in its’ presence.

Oh my sweet, how I pray that you can hear the song the living water sings in your heart!

If you can’t, pray.  Ask Jesus in your heart.

If you are a follower of Christ, pray.  Ask Jesus to open your heart and your spiritual ears to the rhythm of the living water in your soul.

I would advise you to take a walk by a babbling brook.  I don’t mean rush by it in your hurry to get somewhere else.  No my sweet.  Rest on its’ banks.  Dip your fingers in the flow.  Hear its’ melody deep in your soul.  Stay a while.  Stay a long while.  Let God use the physical water to stir up the spiritual water inside you.  He will make it bubble up –so much so that it has to overflow into the lives of others.  Will you let Him?  Will you listen for the sounds of the ultimate water feature?  Will you…

…live… refreshed?

 

 

Tell me what you think!

